First-Time Fun

Writing of any kind is an intense, introspective process that pulls both the best and the worst from the author. After the paper/script/speech/novel is finally finished, the author is free to relax, secure in her knowledge that, for the time being, she can just wait for another inspiration to strike.

Um, NOT.

I follow the blogs of two lovely women I met at the Oklahoma Writers’ Federation conference a few years ago. One of them, Linda Trout, experienced the thrill of having her first novel published just a few months ago. I recently purchased the electronic version  (my bookshelves might wither and die if I tried to put another “actual” book on them) of her book, which is a romantic suspense novel. While reading that book, I’ve never rooted so hard for a woman to find her lost child. Well done, Linda!

On her blog, Linda talks about meeting with book clubs, taking blog tours, and appearing at book festivals. She relishes the contacts with her family and friends who have been so supportive in this process. She just completed work on an anthology of stories with other romance writers and announced that it’s been accepted for publication. Go Linda! Oh, and here’s a link to her book at Wild Rose Press:  http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=963

Another woman I met at the OWFI conference, Lucie Smoker (isn’t that an AWESOME name … so mysterious-sounding?), is waiting eagerly for the publication of her first book, a mystery novel, due out next month. I’m proud to say that I read an early version of this novel long before most anyone else. I can’t wait to see what changes she made.

Like Linda, Lucie journeyed a long way in publishing her first novel, and she completely deserves her success. She filmed a video interview about her novel, helped host her publishing house’s upcoming writing retreat, reviews other books and blogs regularly (her blog is especially interesting because she talk about her experiences in protesting apartheid). Here’s a link to her upcoming novel:  http://buzzbooksusa.com/books/distortion/

Lucie and Linda’s genres are somewhat different, but I noticed that their experiences with the writing process seem very similar. They both were ecstatic about their first published novel, and rightfully so. I have to admit, however, that I felt a little taken aback by the “afterglow” of writing. I thought writing was the hard part … oh, and it IS … but there’s another hard part I forgot … the marketing. I envisioned a solitary writer’s existence where one can cuddle up under a blanket, put on some music and just write. Apparently, I was delusional.

In other words, the job doesn’t really end once you finish writing the book. I think the work is just beginning.

About txsunshine

I'm a daughter, wife, mother of two, PTA volunteer (way too many hours), church goer, liberal-leaning transplanted Texan. I love to write (boy, do I love to write), watch good TV and talk to other people. I also love sports (when my kids play) and spending time with friends and family. I believe that our society would flourish if we lived the Golden Rule ... really, truly lived it.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First-Time Fun

  1. luciesmoker says:

    It’s an amazing process full of fun and surprises. It’s also a lot of work, but worth every minute of it. And noneof it would ever happen if it weren’t for beta-readers like yourself.

  2. Riley Holden says:

    So far all I know about is the writing process. I haven’t yet hob-nobbed with other writers or met the buying public (although I did just get my first royalties!!). I’m finding that writing is hard work, especially when you have another job and a busy schedule. You need TIME to write! I will eagerly await the marketing part. Of course, I’ll probably hate it.

  3. Laura says:

    I think that’s why when I write, I do it mainly for myself. The thought of all that touring and marketing – heck, the work it takes to even get it published! – would be so very tiring. I need more down-time and alone-time than that lifestyle would allow.

  4. JulieLuton says:

    You could write for ME, though. I love what you write! 🙂

Leave a Reply

