Editorial Changes Make Me Sad

Recently, I received the editorial comments on my soon-to-be published short story. The story itself is 8,000 words, so it’s not really that “short,” but it still qualifies, I guess. Anyway, for the most part, the edits are very minor … word choice and such. However, one change is quite extensive and will mean I have to add around 300 words to the story count. Considering that the limit is 8,000 and I am already at exactly 8,000 (how good am I?), I’m more than a little frustrated at adding the scene. I don’t mind the scene, per se, but now I have to cut somewhere else. And I like everything in the story or I wouldn’t have put it in!

Can’t someone explain to the editors that my every word is pure gold?

No?

Well then, as my exercise boot camp instructor says, I’m just going to have to “suck it up, buttercup.”

About txsunshine

I'm a daughter, wife, mother of two, PTA volunteer (way too many hours), church goer, liberal-leaning transplanted Texan. I love to write (boy, do I love to write), watch good TV and talk to other people. I also love sports (when my kids play) and spending time with friends and family. I believe that our society would flourish if we lived the Golden Rule ... really, truly lived it.
This entry was posted in Short Stories (Over 4,000), Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Editorial Changes Make Me Sad

  1. Alex says:

    Since I’m woefully behind on responding…what did you end up doing?

    • txsunshine says:

      I ended up adding the scene and deleting another 350-400 words elsewhere. Not easy!

      I haven’t heard back yet, but I ended up being happy with the change.

Leave a Reply

