Anger Management

I visit my 90-year-old great-uncle once a week in his assisted living apartment. He’s at that stage of life where he doesn’t want to do anything but watch TV. Well, that and complain that no one ever visits him (which isn’t true) or that he’d rather be living anywhere else but Texas (which probably isn’t true either). His memory fails him often, and I know he gets very frustrated over that fact.

Recently, we disagreed over whether he was taking his medications correctly. He insisted that he might be old and grumpy — and boy, is he right about that! — but he knew exactly what he was doing with the medicines. I countered that, because he was taking the Sunday medicines on Tuesday, things might not be quite kosher. He informed me that I should just mind my business and he’d mind his. He used various curse words in his diatribe, and I finally left after I told him I’d come back when he was in a better mood … and I didn’t want to yell back at him. Being a respectful great-niece, I said that last part in my head, though.

So here’s the tie-in to writing … after listening to my great-uncle yell at me, I’m thinking about curse words and their effectiveness in dialogue. In several of my stories, the characters curse frequently. They even use words that I don’t use in my speech. To me, though, the characters talk like that because they talk like that. It’s a part of them, just like their eye colors or physique.

The question is this … should I cut down on obscenities (and perhaps also sexual situations) or leave things in that seem inherent to the characters and their lives? I don’t know that I have a firm answer. I believe in letting the characters tell their stories, but if everyone who reads the stories is terribly offended, have I done the characters an injustice? The answer might be that the characters aren’t exactly real so I, as the writer, can make them do whatever I think is right.

However, I don’t think anyone has told my characters they aren’t real because, most days, they do whatever they darn well please. And sometimes they do whatever they damn well please.

About txsunshine

I'm a daughter, wife, mother of two, PTA volunteer (way too many hours), church goer, liberal-leaning transplanted Texan. I love to write (boy, do I love to write), watch good TV and talk to other people. I also love sports (when my kids play) and spending time with friends and family. I believe that our society would flourish if we lived the Golden Rule ... really, truly lived it.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anger Management

  1. Alex says:

    No cutting down on the sex scenes! Ah, I mean, *blushing* stay true to what your characters would do, and if anybody is really offended, well, they’re missing out on some great stories. And besides, I’ve never read anything you’ve written that offended me, especially when it comes to language.

  2. txsunshine says:

    Thanks for the vote of confidence. I’m going to review the two completed novels just to be sure I haven’t re-thought any of the dialogue. I remember thinking things through very carefully when I was writing.

Leave a Reply

