My Pre-New Year’s Resolution

After a long hiatus (too tired? too many commitments? too lazy?), I finally submitted a short story. You originally titled it “The Retraction,” but I’ve reworked it somewhat and renamed it to “Hindsight.” I like that title better.

I also started writing again, but I don’t really know where I’m going with what I’m working on. Maybe I’m just blowing off steam and working out the kinks in my writing “muscles.” It has been awhile since I felt creative at all, so I’m celebrating even the smallest accomplishment.

I’m making a pre-New Year’s Resolution to WRITE. MORE. No matter if it’s just a few paragraphs a day, I’m going to write something so I don’t forget what I want to be. Being a wife, mother and (all too frequent) volunteer is important, but so is the writing. Normal, non-writing people don’t think of titles in the middle of cooking dinner. They don’t run dialog in their heads as they’re trying to sleep. And I’m pretty sure they don’t plot how to find time to get to the shooting range so they can actually try out the gun one of the characters used to kill someone. At least I don’t think they do.

I want to write. So I guess I’d better actually write something. Now.

About txsunshine

I'm a daughter, wife, mother of two, PTA volunteer (way too many hours), church goer, liberal-leaning transplanted Texan. I love to write (boy, do I love to write), watch good TV and talk to other people. I also love sports (when my kids play) and spending time with friends and family. I believe that our society would flourish if we lived the Golden Rule ... really, truly lived it.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Pre-New Year’s Resolution

  1. Heather says:

    I should totally copy you and your resolve and see if it gets me any closer to finishing … anything. How many stories/books have I started in the last year only to just … pppfffftttt?

    Now that I am gainfully employed, some of the pressure that interfered with creativity is gone, but now I’m using my writing muscles in other ways. Still, I’m going to give it a shot – writing for me, that is.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    And um … just out of curiosity … what cool story are you working on that involves a gun and going to the gun range?!

    *blinks innocently*

    *tries to hide my foot tapping*

    WHAT?!

    • txsunshine says:

      Heath, I really wish you would finish some of your stories. You are sooooo close on some of them.

      And thank goodness for some of your pressure leaving you. It’s about time.

      The new story is yet unnamed with little to no direction. I’m letting it sit for awhile. I may or may not have gone back to the Abandoned Alliance. 🙂

  2. Laura Lehman says:

    I should write more too, I just feel out of good ideas, you know?

    More Abandoned Alliance??? *does a happy dance*

  3. Lucie says:

    So thrilled to see you’re feeling creative. I can’t wait to see what you write in 2011!

    • txsunshine says:

      Hey, glad to hear from you. I’m doing extremely badly at keeping up with my resolution. I’ve written some on the third book in the Abandoned Alliance series, but nothing other than that. 😦

      How are you doing? Any word on agents? Any new changes to the book? I still need to know how it ends!!!!!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Julie

Leave a Reply

